Blessings in Disguise

Have you ever had a blessing in disguise?

When I was a teenager, my dad was offered a job in Japan and my parents decided it would be a great idea for the whole family to move there.  I was at a very awkward age (15/16), had just got together with my first ever boyfriend and didn’t want to move at all.  In fact, I cried for three days when I arrived in Tokyo and refused to even talk to the kind neighbouring kids who came to welcome me and introduce themselves.  In short, I thought it was the worst thing that had ever happened to me … but as it turned out, it was the absolute best!

Once I’d got over my sulks and started to get into the swing of things, I discovered what a wonderful place Japan is.  The three years I spent there were the best of my life and I still long to go back there all the time.  My stay in Tokyo had a huge influence on me, on my taste and thinking – I was a completely different person when I left.  If I had stayed in Sweden, I don’t think I would have been able to see the world in the same way.  Life in Tokyo taught me to get along with all kinds of different people, to be tolerant of everyone else’s beliefs and ways of life, not to judge anyone because of where they came from.  So it was definitely a blessing in disguise!

Today is publication day for my friend Rhoda Baxter’s novel Girl in Trouble, and her main characters have a similar experience – they undergo changes that they feel are bad, but end up being positive.  Here’s the blurb:-

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn’t need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren’t that reliable anyway. She’s got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn’t need to settle down, thanks.

Walter’s ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he’s losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she’s pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he’s ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you’ll love this. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot’s Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

Buy link (should go to your preferred bookstore): books2read.com/u/4Doy6r

[The book is on sale for 99p on the 9th and 10th of October, after which it’ll climb up to 2.99. If you buy in the first week, you get some early bird bonuses – a short story collection and a recipe booklet containing recipes for the snacks mentioned in the Girl Having A Ball.]

1 Comment »

  1. I had a similar experience at 13, when we moved to Yap for six months. And then again when we moved to England when I was 16. I agree that the experiences shaped the way I view the world. A lot of my views changed after I saw that there were different ways to live and that that people were people whereever they came from.

    Thank you so much for helping me celebrate the release of Girl In Trouble and with such a great post too!

    Comment by Rhoda Baxter — October 9, 2017 @ 2:34 pm

Leave a comment