Posts Tagged ‘Rhoda Baxter’

Blessings in Disguise

Have you ever had a blessing in disguise?

When I was a teenager, my dad was offered a job in Japan and my parents decided it would be a great idea for the whole family to move there.  I was at a very awkward age (15/16), had just got together with my first ever boyfriend and didn’t want to move at all.  In fact, I cried for three days when I arrived in Tokyo and refused to even talk to the kind neighbouring kids who came to welcome me and introduce themselves.  In short, I thought it was the worst thing that had ever happened to me … but as it turned out, it was the absolute best!

Once I’d got over my sulks and started to get into the swing of things, I discovered what a wonderful place Japan is.  The three years I spent there were the best of my life and I still long to go back there all the time.  My stay in Tokyo had a huge influence on me, on my taste and thinking – I was a completely different person when I left.  If I had stayed in Sweden, I don’t think I would have been able to see the world in the same way.  Life in Tokyo taught me to get along with all kinds of different people, to be tolerant of everyone else’s beliefs and ways of life, not to judge anyone because of where they came from.  So it was definitely a blessing in disguise!

Today is publication day for my friend Rhoda Baxter’s novel Girl in Trouble, and her main characters have a similar experience – they undergo changes that they feel are bad, but end up being positive.  Here’s the blurb:-

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn’t need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren’t that reliable anyway. She’s got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn’t need to settle down, thanks.

Walter’s ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he’s losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she’s pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he’s ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you’ll love this. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot’s Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

Buy link (should go to your preferred bookstore): books2read.com/u/4Doy6r

[The book is on sale for 99p on the 9th and 10th of October, after which it’ll climb up to 2.99. If you buy in the first week, you get some early bird bonuses – a short story collection and a recipe booklet containing recipes for the snacks mentioned in the Girl Having A Ball.]

‘Please Release Me’ – coming unstuck!

PLEASE RELEASE ME_high res miniIn honour of the publication of my friend Rhoda Baxter’s new novel Please Release Me (happy publication day, Rhoda!!), I’m blogging today on the theme of ‘being stuck’, because all the main characters in that book are stuck in some way.

I guess we all feel stuck sometimes – mostly in the daily “rut” when life can feel like it’s Groundhog Day and very tedious. This is especially the case for an author when working on a book as every day is more or less the same. Even weekends in my case – being self-employed you don’t have the nine-to-five restraints and you just work until it’s finished. I don’t really mind, but it always feels a bit weird when friends say “thank goodness it’s the weekend” as that’s meaningless to me!

The thing I’m stuck on now though is a bit more specific and – predictably – it’s the plot of my next story, a YA fantasy. I need to make it darker and more frightening, but at the same time more believable. Not an easy task!

I’ve found that there are two types of story: those that come fully formed into your mind and just flow onto the page without any trouble, and those that seem like a good idea when you start writing them but turn into a real battle to finish. My current WIP – provisionally titled Dare to Defy – was, I thought, of the first variety, but on further inspection is turning into the second category. Bother!

That means revisions, rethinks and actually having to write a proper outline (something I usually try to avoid, being the kind of writer who just sits down and writes normally), but I’ll just have to get on with it and hope that I’m soon un-stuck 🙂

Blurb for Please Release Me:-

What if you could only watch as your bright future slipped away from you?

Sally Cummings has had it tougher than most but, if nothing else, it’s taught her to grab o

pportunity with both hands. And, when she stands looking into the eyes of her new husband Peter on her perfect wedding day, it seems her life is finally on the up.

That is until the car crash that puts her in a coma and throws her entire future into question.

In the following months, a small part of Sally’s consciousness begins to return, allowing her to listen in on the world around her – although she has no way to communicate.

But Sally was never going to let a little thing like a coma get in the way of her happily ever after …

Buy link: myBook.to/PleaseReleaseMe